FAQ

Please find information in response to the most frequently asked questions (FAQ) below. 

COVID-19 & SAFE START FAQ

As of June 22nd, the DOL is open by appointment only. You can learn more at https://www.dol.wa.gov/appointments/index.html 

TEEN DRIVERS ED FAQ

Teen Drivers Ed is for youth that are 15 – 18 years old. Students must be 15 years old by the first day of class.

The dates listed for the courses are for the classroom instruction only. Students must schedule their drives outside of the classroom instruction. We encourage students to schedule 1 drive every 2 – 3 weeks to allow time for practice between driving lessons. This significantly improves the student pass rate on the driving exam. 

State law allows you to miss a maximum of 3 classes, but you will need to make those up. You do not need to notify us if you will miss a class.  But remember, you do need to make up that class! More information about making up a class will be provided on the first day.

APPLY FOR A PERMIT

If you have a Washington State ID card: Please email us the “WA ID Number” from the ID and we will submit a permit waiver to the DOL. The waiver allows you to get your permit 10 days before class without taking the State knowledge exam.  

If you do NOT have a Washington State ID card:  

  1. Please pre-apply online at: http://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/preapply.html 
  2. When you are done with the pre-application, you will receive an email with a confirmation code.  
  3. Next, log into License eXpress to access your ID number. It starts with “WDL.” 
  4. Email us that ID number and we will submit a permit waiver that allows you to get your permit 10 days before the start of class.   

GET THE PERMIT

The DOL currently issues two types of permit. 

  • Type 1: Non-Photo Permit (which must be paired with separate photo ID)
  • Type 2: Photo ID Permit (the “usual” permit)

You can find full instructions on getting a permit on the DOL site HERE

You can view a PDF with details on how to get a photo-less permit HERE

Scheduling student drives typically starts around week 2 or 3 of the classroom sessions.  We typically schedule the observation drive first so they students can see what the experience will be like when they are behind the wheel. The 5 driving lessons will be spread out with 2-3 weeks in between to allow students the opportunity to practice between lessons. Students who take several weeks to practice, between driving lessons, have a higher pass rate on the driving exam.  

 

If you are enrolled in Teen Drivers Ed, and ready to book a driving lesson please follow these steps. 

  • Log into your account HERE
  • Click on the “Driving Lessons” link
  • Chose the “Driving Lesson – 60 minutes” option
  • Find a time that is convenient for you and book your driving lesson

Please make note of the following important information:  

  • The observation drive is the one service that must be scheduled through our Office Manager. To book your observation please call 425-226-6100 or email drive@405drivingschool.com
  • You must have your learners permit before your schedule your first driving lesson. 
  • You must have your permit on you at the time of your driving lesson. If you do not have your permit, we will be forced to reschedule the lesson and you will be charged a cancelation fee. 

When you log into our appointment booking platform to book driving lessons, all available times will be shown starting with the soonest available times. If no times are shown, then our instructors are fully booked.

We generally post instructor availability one month at a time, about 2 or 3 weeks prior to the start of the month.  

Please arrive 5 – 10 minutes before the start of your driving lesson so that you are ready to start the lesson right at the start of your scheduled appointment.

We are required by the State to provide the full 60 minute driving lesson to each of our students, and require the entire 30 minutes for the state driving exams. Therefore, your punctuality is extremely important if you want to hold your appointment time.

  • If you do not show up for your drive test appointment and/or provide less than a 24 hour notice to cancel, you will incur a cancelation fee.
  • If you are 10+ min. late for an appointment, we will try to accommodate you if possible. If we cannot work you in, you will incur a cancelation fee.
  • For example: If you show up at 2:10 for a 60 minute driving lesson that was supposed to start at 2:00, and the instructor has another student driving lesson scheduled at 3:00, then we can not deliver the 60 minute lesson. Therefore you would incur a cancelation fee.

We require a Debit/Credit Card to be held on each person’s file in case there is a missed driving lesson or driving exam appointment.

WRITTEN & DRIVING EXAM FAQ

The knowledge test consists of 40 multiple-choice questions about traffic safety laws. Applicants must answer at least 32 questions correctly in order to pass the test.

In order to take the written exam you must have a Washington ID or driver’s license number. Pre-apply online to create your Washington ID or driver license number. Then bring the license number with you when you come to take the written exam.

 

For your convenience, to help you prepare for your written and driving exams, we have provided links to the Washington State study guides.

ENGLISH
CHINESE
RUSSIAN
SPANISH
KOREAN
VIETNAMESE

Below are links to practice exams that we encourage you to take before you come in for your official written exam. The practice exams will help you get comfortable with the style of question and answer used in the written exam. It will also help test your knowledge so you can identify where you are prepared and where you may need to invest more time studying.

ENGLISH
SPANISH

The driving test will test the applicants ability to drive legally and safely. Applicants must pass the driving test with a score of 80 or better out of 100 possible points. For more information on what applicants will be evaluated on, please visit: http://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/drivingtest.html.

Applicants may provide their own vehicles or pay to use one of our vehicles to use for the driving test. If you wish to use your own vehicle please be sure that:

  • You have a valid insurance card  at the time of the exam
  • All brake lights work
  • All turn signals work
  • Seat belts function properly
  • License plates are on the front and back of the vehicle with current tabs on the rear plate
  • Windshields are free of any cracks or chips in the line of vision
  • Windshield wipers are functioning properly and the defrost system works properly to defog the windows
  • Tires meet the state requirements for tire tread (no bald tires)

If your vehicle fails to meet the above qualifications, you will either forfeit your exam time and incur a cancelation fee, or, you will have the option to pay an additional fee to utilize one of our vehicles. 

Please arrive 5 – 10 minutes before the start of your appointment so that you are ready to start right at the start of your scheduled appointment.

We are required by the State to provide the full 60 minute driving lesson to each of our students, and require the entire 30 minutes for the state driving exams. Therefore, your punctuality is extremely important if you want to hold your appointment time.

  • If you do not show up for your drive test appointment and/or provide less than a 24 hour notice to cancel, you will incur a cancelation fee..
  • If you are 10+ min. late for an appointment, we will try to accommodate you if possible. If we cannot work you in, you will incur a cancelation fee.
  • For example: If you show up at 2:10 for a 60 minute driving lesson that was supposed to start at 2:00, and the instructor has another student driving lesson scheduled at 3:00, then we can not deliver the 60 minute lesson. Therefore you would incur a cancelation fee.

Also note that if you arrive to take a written or driving exam and do not have a Washington ID or driver license number, it will be counted as a no-show and you will be charged a cancelation fee.

We require a Debit/Credit Card to be held on each person’s file to cover the cancelation fee in the case where there is a missed driving lesson or exam appointment.

Written Exams

We offer the written exam in the following languages. 

  • ENGLISH
  • CHINESE
  • KOREAN
  • RUSSIAN
  • SPANISH
  • VIETNAMESE

Driving Exams

We only offer driving exams in English or Spanish.

We are not allowed to bring a translator in the car.

If you need a driving exam in a foreign language you can contact the DOL to schedule a driving exam in the language of your choice. 

APPOINTMENT CANCELATION POLICY FAQ

Please arrive 5 – 10 minutes before the start of your driving lesson so that you are ready to start the lesson right at the start of your scheduled appointment.

We are required by the State to provide the full 60 minute driving lesson to each of our students, and require the entire 30 minutes for the state driving exams. Therefore, your punctuality is extremely important if you want to hold your appointment time.

  • If you do not show up for your drive test appointment and/or provide less than a 24 hour notice to cancel, you will incur a cancelation fee.
  • If you are 10+ min. late for an appointment, we will try to accommodate you if possible. If we cannot work you in, you will incur a cancelation fee.
  • For example: If you show up at 2:10 for a 60 minute driving lesson that was supposed to start at 2:00, and the instructor has another student driving lesson scheduled at 3:00, then we can not deliver the 60 minute lesson. Therefore you would incur a cancelation fee.

We require a Debit/Credit Card to be held on each person’s file in case there is a missed driving lesson or driving exam appointment.

STILL HAVE QUESTIONS?

If the information above did not answer all your questions, please contact us. We are glad to help answer any of your questions we can!